Nevada Medical Marijuana Card >
Nevada Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
Medical Marijuana Doctors in Nevada >
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Card in Nevada >
Replacement Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada >
Nevada has a strict list of approved medical conditions for medical marijuana usage. Qualifying medical conditions include the following:
Persons with any of the qualifying medical conditions may apply for Nevada Medical Marijuana Registry cards provided they have physician certifications confirming the medical conditions. Nevada law prohibits persons who have been convicted of intentionally selling or trafficking controlled substances from obtaining medical marijuana registry cards. Nevada allows for medical marijuana reciprocity and allows medical marijuana patients with valid medical marijuana cards from other states to purchase, possess, and use medical marijuana in Nevada.
Yes, the state has an online application portal for qualified patients to complete their medical marijuana card applications online. Eligible patients can obtain medical marijuana recommendations via telemedicine and complete their registry ID card applications online from their homes.
You can register with the Nevada medical marijuana program by applying for a medical marijuana patient registry ID card. A registry ID card is legal proof of your enrollment in the state program. The registry ID card application must be made to the Department of Health and Human Services Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) using the Division's online application system or paper application. Note that only patients with qualifying conditions are allowed to apply for a Nevada medical marijuana card.
You must be a Nevada resident to obtain a medical marijuana registry ID card under the Nevada medical marijuana program. The state makes no exception for out-of-state residents to get medical marijuana cards under its medical marijuana program.
The cost of a Nevada medical marijuana card is $75. It costs $25 to start the application process and $50 to register for the medical marijuana program. An applicant may pay $100 for a 2-year license. The fees for caregivers and patients are the same. Applicants who apply online can make payments via credit or debit cards. Payments may also be made by mail through checks and money orders to the Medical Marijuana Division at:
Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health
ATTN: Medical Marijuana Division
4126 Technology Way, Suite 100
Carson City, Nevada 89706
All patients pay the same registration fees, and there is no discount for veterans and persons on financial aid. Caregivers also pay the same registration fees. The annual renewal fee for a Nevada medical marijuana card is $50.
A medical marijuana patient must hold their medical marijuana registry card and an identification card when visiting a licensed medical marijuana dispensary in Nevada. Acceptable forms of ID cards include a passport, a driver's license, or a Nevada-issued identification card. The physician-recommended dosage is indicated on the card, and the dispensary will sell medical marijuana up to the prescribed limit. Some dispensaries are licensed for both medical marijuana and adult-use marijuana. Hence, presenting a medical marijuana card at such dispensaries will entitle the cardholder to discounts on medical cannabis products.
Persons with qualifying medical conditions must be certified by Nevada board-certified healthcare providers before applying for a Nevada medical marijuana card. Only healthcare providers who are doctors of osteopathy (DO) or doctors of medicine (MD) and licensed in the state of Nevada can issue written certifications for medical marijuana. Nevada does not provide a list of healthcare providers that can issue medical marijuana certifications. Medical marijuana patients must be certified yearly by healthcare providers for medical marijuana therapy.
Yes, minors under the age of 18 years can get medical marijuana cards in Nevada, provided their custodial parents or legal guardians agree to serve as their caregivers. The parents and legal guardians of minor patients must apply on behalf of the patients and sign “minor release” forms during the application process. Furthermore, minor patients may use medical marijuana but not purchase, possess, or cultivate it.
Yes. Nevada recognizes residents as adults when they turn 18. When Nevada minors turn 18, the state allows them to apply for new medical marijuana cards as adults. As adults, they can apply for their cards online. Furthermore, adult applicants do not need parental consent and do not have to designate caregivers when applying for medical marijuana cards.
Nevada medical marijuana cards are usually renewed annually, except where the physician recommends it for a shorter period or an applicant paid for a 2-year license. It is recommended that a cardholder applies for a renewal 30 days before the expiration of the existing card. The renewal process is the same as applying for a new medical marijuana registry card.
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Nevada. Nevada legalized medical marijuana in 2000 after two ballot measures were passed by the state’s voters in 1998 and 2000. The Nevada Medical Marijuana Act, known as Question 9, was approved by a vote of 58.7% in the 1998 elections. Being an initiative that would amend the Nevada Constitution, it needed to be approved in two consecutive elections. In 2000, Nevada voters reapproved medical marijuana use by passing Question 9 with a vote of 65.38%.
The Nevada Assembly formally legalized medical marijuana by passing Assembly Bill 453 (NRS 453A) in June 2001. However, there were limitations to the Act. While the Act established the Nevada Medical Marijuana Patient Registry, it did not provide for the retailing of medical marijuana to patients. Dispensaries could not be licensed under the program. Registered patients were only allowed to cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants for medicinal use. The Nevada Medical Marijuana Patient Registry is administered by the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) under the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).
In 2013, Nevada enacted Senate Bill 374 to allow for licensing of medical marijuana establishments. The law makes provision for marijuana cultivation, production, laboratory, and dispensary businesses. The first medical marijuana dispensary was opened in 2015. The medical marijuana program allows cardholders to possess 2.5 ounces of marijuana for medical purposes within a 14-day period, and since its inception, over 29,000 patients have been served by the program.
Yes. A medical marijuana cardholder can grow medical marijuana in Nevada provided they meet one of the following criteria:
Medical marijuana cardholders in Nevada who meet the stipulated criteria are allowed to cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants in their residences. This is irrespective of whether they are mature plants or immature plants. In addition, marijuana plants must be cultivated in an enclosed space and kept hidden from public view.
Possessing a Nevada marijuana card offers the following benefits:
Yes, medical marijuana patients in Nevada can designate primary caregivers to assist them in purchasing, cultivating, and administering medical marijuana. A designated primary caregiver in the state must:
In Nevada, a designated caregiver cannot serve more than one patient, and a patient may only have one caregiver. A legal guardian or parent of a minor patient must serve as their designated primary caregiver. A patient interested in designating a primary caregiver must indicate such when applying for or renewing a medical marijuana card. Designated primary caregivers will also be subjected to criminal background checks. Persons convicted of controlled substance sales or trafficking are prohibited from serving as caregivers in Nevada.
The State of Nevada offers medical marijuana reciprocity to patients from specific states and colonies in the United States. If you have medical marijuana from any of the state or local governments listed below, you can purchase medical marijuana in Nevada:
In accordance with NRS 453A.700, the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health will not disclose:
However, the Division may disclose to authorized employees of the DPBH as required to perform official duties and approved employees of state and local law enforcement agencies only as necessary to verify if an individual is a lawful holder of a registry identification card.
No. Medical marijuana costs must be paid out of pocket as insurance does not cover them.
The Nevada medical marijuana card allows the cardholder to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of flower, edibles, topicals, or concentrates every 2 weeks.
Yes. Provided you are 21 or older and possess an active government ID, you can purchase cannabis at Nevada-licensed dispensaries without a medical marijuana card. However, patients looking to buy medical marijuana must present medical marijuana cards at state-approved dispensaries.