Yes. There are marijuana dispensaries in the City of Reno. Section 5.22.012 of the City of Reno Code of Ordinances states that the Reno City Council issues cannabis licenses to cannabis retail outlets in the city.
Yes. There are medical marijuana dispensaries in Reno as permitted under Section 5.22 of the Reno Code of Ordinances.
Yes. Cannabis purchases can be made online through the websites of Reno weed dispensaries. The same type of strains and products available in-store are available to online buyers. You can also have your purchases delivered to your address.
In Reno, you can buy both adult-use and medical marijuana at dispensaries since both cannabis forms are legal in Nevada. You can also find dispensaries selling medical and recreational cannabis in the same location. To buy recreational marijuana, you must be 21 years old or older and have a valid government ID. To purchase medical marijuana, you need a Nevada medical marijuana card or an out-of-state medical marijuana card and a government-issued ID.
At a Reno dispensary, you can find different types of marijuana products like tinctures, edibles, topicals, flower, and concentrates. Prices can vary depending on the dispensary and product type. If you are unsure what to buy, you can ask the dispensary employee for help. Reno dispensaries have budtenders or employees trained to help buyers make the best choices.
There are limits on how much marijuana you can buy at one time. If you have a medical marijuana identification card, you can buy up to 2.5 ounces. However, recreational users can buy no more than 1 ounce. You usually have to pay in cash, not with a credit card. You can use an ATM at the dispensary if you do not have cash. It is against the law to use marijuana at a dispensary.
Reno cannabis dispensaries operate under the following regulations:
A cannabis dispensary must acquire a state license and Reno permit before starting operations in the city
Cannabis use is illegal in or around a dispensary
Persons under the age of 18 are not allowed in a medical marijuana dispensary unless they are qualified patients and are accompanied by their parents or legal guardians
Individuals under 18 are not allowed in recreational marijuana dispensaries at any time
Dispensaries may only sell marijuana to people who are 21 years old or older and have a valid government ID or to persons with valid medical marijuana licenses
In 2016, the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act, also known as Question 2, was approved by Nevada voters, legalizing the possession and use of recreational cannabis in the City of Reno and other Nevada locations. This act permits individuals 21 or older to possess up to one ounce of flower or 2.5 grams of cannabis concentrates. Additionally, residents of Reno who live more than 25 miles away from a licensed adult-use cannabis dispensary are permitted to grow up to six cannabis plants for personal use. However, the purchase of adult-use cannabis is only legal when made at licensed dispensaries within the State of Nevada.
However, note that despite the legalization of recreational cannabis in Reno, it is illegal to:
Operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of cannabis
Transport cannabis across state lines
Use or possess cannabis on federal lands and buildings within Reno
Reno city authorities permit the possession and use of medical cannabis in accordance with the Nevada Medical Use of Marijuana Act. In order to legally access medical cannabis in Reno, individuals must have been diagnosed with one or more of the specific medical conditions approved by the state, such as anorexia, autism, autoimmune disease, cancer, PTSD, HIV, nausea, anxiety, cachexia, glaucoma, opioid dependence, and persistent muscle spasms.
Persons who have obtained medical marijuana cards from the Nevada Department of Public and Behavioral Health are exempted from criminal laws under Section 453A of the Nevada Revised Statutes relating to medical cannabis use. They can also possess 2.5 ounces of cannabis every 14 days and grow 12 cannabis plants at home.
Additionally, Reno, under Nevada laws, recognizes medical marijuana cardholders from other states or countries. Hence, individuals who present valid and non-expired medical marijuana cards from their home states will be permitted to purchase medical cannabis in Reno.
Per Section 8.17.080 of the Reno Code, it is unlawful for any person to engage or assist in the medical use of marijuana on the property or premises of a medical marijuana establishment, in any public place, or any place open to the public or exposed to public view.
To be issued a medical marijuana card in Reno, individuals must apply to be included in the medical marijuana registry maintained by the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH). To do so, an individual must have a written prescription for a debilitating or chronic medical condition from a healthcare provider who is in good standing with the Nevada Board. The healthcare provider must also complete and sign an Attending Healthcare Provider Statement.
To begin the application process for a medical marijuana card, the applicant must visit the online registry and select "Register as a Cardholder." A scanned copy of the applicant’s driver's license will be required to create a profile. After creating a profile, the applicant may download and print the application and upload it back to the registration portal when completed. An application fee of $50 (1-year registration) or $100 (2-year registration) will be required before submitting the application.
Upon successful completion and submission of the application, the DPBH will issue a letter of approval. The letter is valid for 60 days and can be used to purchase medical cannabis at licensed dispensaries. This provides adequate time for cardholders to receive their medical marijuana card, which will arrive in the mail before the expiration of the approval letter.
You can consume at your home in Reno if you own the property. Alternatively, cannabis use is permitted in a licensed social-use venue. If you do not own your residence, ensure to obtain permission from your landlord before using cannabis there.
You may purchase cannabis from a dispensary in Reno if you are at least 21 years old or have a medicinal marijuana card. You can find the address of Reno dispensaries by searching online using the term "Reno cannabis dispensaries near me.” When visiting, bring cash, as credit cards are not accepted. Note that if you want to buy medical cannabis, you will be required to have an active medical marijuana card.
A gram of pre-rolls in Reno costs between $10 and $15, while a gram of cannabis concentrates may go as high as $60.
Some popular cannabis strains in Reno are:
Super Lemon Haze
Wicked Sour Strawberry
No. Cannabis smoking in public places is illegal in Reno.
For recreational use, individuals in Nevada are allowed to possess up to 28.35 grams of marijuana or 0.123 ounces of marijuana concentrates. Adults of legal age are also permitted to cultivate up to six cannabis plants per individual or 12 plants per household.
However, for individuals with a valid medical marijuana card, the possession limits are different. They are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of concentrate, flower, or topicals every 14 days. Additionally, medical marijuana cardholders are permitted to cultivate up to 12 plants for personal use.
No. Shipping cannabis in or out of Reno, across state lines, is illegal.
Yes, you can order cannabis online in Reno.
There are no provisions in the Reno City Code restricting the operation hours of cannabis dispensaries there. Hence, you may be able to find weed dispensaries operating around the clock. To find the exact operation hours of cannabis dispensaries in Reno, perform an online search using the term "cannabis dispensaries near me.” You can find the websites for Reno dispensaries from the search results and the operation hours for the facilities on such sites.
Visitors in Reno can use both medical and recreational dispensaries there.
Yes. You need a medical marijuana card or a government-issued ID at Reno dispensaries.
The Dispensary and Jade Cannabis are two top-rated cannabis dispensaries in Reno.
Yes. You must bring a scannable government ID to Reno dispensaries before you may enter.
There are nine dispensing locations in Reno.
No. Reno dispensaries typically accept cash but not credit cards.
You can visit multiple Reno dispensaries in one day.
No. Reno dispensaries do not accept health insurance.
Yes. Reno dispensaries track weed purchases to take inventory of sales. All Nevada weed dispensaries are required to track purchases.
To enter a Reno adult-use dispensary, you must be 21 or older. You must be 18 or older to enter a Reno medical marijuana dispensary.
The Nevada Cannabis Compliance Board regulates cannabis operations in Reno. You may contact the Board at:
700 East Warm Springs Road
Reno, NV 89119
Phone: (775) 687-6299
To report illegal marijuana activities in Reno, you may file a report to the Nevada Cannabis Compliance Board using the Board’s online complaint tool or contact the Reno Police Department. To contact the PD, call the Department at (775) 334-2175 or file a report online.